“I grew up just outside of London and have lived in and around London most of my life. For the last few years before we moved out to Doha in August 2019, we were living in Surrey, to the South West of London. Initially, it was a big culture shock, and there were so many new things to get used to.  My wife and I were both starting new jobs, and I was actually starting a new role which was quite different from what I had been doing previously. My background is in marketing, and for many years I had been working in London in marketing roles, first in the theatre industry and then for the last few years before we came out here, I was working in the adventure travel sector. When we moved here, I took on a completely different role. It was my first time working in education, my first time taking in a partnerships-focused role rather than marketing, and then, of course, coming to a new country where neither of us had any experience with this part of the world and the heat! I know everyone talks about it but it’s sort of impossible not to, especially when you come from the UK, and when you arrive in the middle of August and step off the plane. You then realize how hot it’s going to be, and nothing quite prepares you for it. So, the first few months were a steep learning curve just getting used to the new role at work, finding out about life here, settling in, buying a car, getting our driving licenses, getting all the paperwork of settling into a new country, etc. It was definitely a bit of a challenge.