Doha Festival City has invited artists in Qatar to join the ‘Festival City Canvas’ celebrating the diversity of culture, ethnicity, nationality, upbringings and backgrounds of the people in Qatar. With the concept of ‘Qatar Unites Us’, each artist is drawing and painting a masterpiece on a canvas, inspired by their personal and cultural experiences in Qatar.

All & About recently met and interviewed the artists, Christina Dinu from Romania, Erum Khalid from Pakistan and Shihar Hamza from India, and got some insights on their background and their work.

Read what they have to say below!

Erum Khalid

“I’m completely self-taught. I haven’t been to art school – I’d have loved to but unfortunately. I’ve always been creative, and love painting, drawing, arts & crafts since I was little. When I moved to Qatar in 2018, I found that they have more events and exposure especially for beginner-level artists like me, compared to where I lived earlier. So, cut to the pandemic when I had nothing much to do, I decided to start off with a few paintings, and that’s when I also came across the opportunity at the Faisal Bin Qasim Al Thani Museum where they were having an exhibition on ‘Art during the time of COVID’- that was a group exhibition, and since then, I’ve encountered many opportunities – a media company approached me for this canvas. This is definitely a first-of-its-kind experience for me.

The overall theme is ‘Qatar Unites Us’ so my painting represents all the nationalities who live in Qatar and the hashtag #QatarUnitesUs will be in the middle.

When I was younger, I enjoyed making cards for my relatives with the fountain tip ink pens, and handwriting is also something that I’ve really been fascinated about. So this also happened during the pandemic actually, I started doing calligraphy, and when I saw that people really appreciated it, so I decided to focus on this skill through research and practice.